Unexpected blessing

small blessings

Book review: Small Blessings by Martha Woodroof

I received this book via net-galley. I requested it based purely on the pretty cover — I know, I know, I shouldn’t do such things, but I’m glad I did! What an unexpectedly delightful book this is!

The blurb, I must say, doesn’t really do it justice, and yet I’m not sure I know how to justifiably describe the premise either. Maybe I’d just say, ‘read this!’ and be done with it.

Yes, it is a sweet romance with somewhat quirky characters, but in this case I feel it’s a bit insulting to relegate this book strictly to the quirky romance genre. I guess it’s heartwarming, but I hate to use that tag too as that also seems to fall short of the mark somehow.

I loved the ‘hero’ of the book, Tom. All the other characters have inner thoughts or acknowledge somewhere along the line that he’s a lovely man, and for once, all the characters (and the writer, I guess) are right! I thoroughly enjoyed cheering him on.

There’s also a fantastic cast of supporting characters, who spice up the already unconventional romance by adding some twists and dramatic tension.

I loved Woodroof’s style; she handles some contentious issues, such as alcoholism and mental illness, with aplomb.

I’m actually a little perturbed there isn’t more publicity surrounding this book, considering it’s Woodroof’s debut. I’ll definitely be on the lookout for her next novel.

4 1/2 stars out of 5.

Leave a Reply

