The Grinch strikes again…

secret santo

Book review:  Secret Santo by Carla Caruso

Novellas are a tricky business. Christmas novellas even more so. There’re a million on the market, and I have yet to find one I would say didn’t make me have evil Grinch thoughts.

I didn’t think I’d bother with any this year, but I like the way Caruso writes, so she sucked me in.  I won’t, however, be cracking open the bubbly in celebration of finally finding my Christmas spirit via this novella.

It’s not bad, by any means, but I think it just suffered from its brevity. It didn’t give me a chance to get to know the characters like I wanted to, and the hidden identity thing was not drawn out enough.

It’s cuter than any of the Christmas novellas I read last year though, so I’ll give it huge points for that.

I’m not convinced on the names thing though. Some are very imaginative, yes, but perhaps it was a little bit over the top.

Using my new novellas’ ratings system (where I compare it to other novellas only), I’ll give it a 3 1/2 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

