Paying for sex

contract

Book Review:  The Contract by Avril Tremayne

This is a fun romance that won’t stretch your brain cells too much, and I’m not saying that’s a bad thing because sometimes that’s exactly what you need in a book, a little bit of light escapism.

The contract, as mentioned in the title, is for the hero to teach our heroine how to be good in bed. Therefore, to be honest, the whole book is basically one sex scene after another. All the sex scenes are well written, consensual, and sometimes humorous, so again, I’m not saying this is necessarily a bad thing!

I didn’t notice the book was marketed towards young adults until after I finished it and I must say I don’t think it fits into that genre. I suppose I was reading Mills & Boons under the covers probably from the age of 14 or so but… Obviously I’m an old prude now and would recommend it for someone at least 18.

It might explain the new cover which I thought seemed to be too ‘young’ for the actual book when I saw it.

I wonder if the writer actually altered the characters’ ages after her initial draft to fit in with the publisher’s desire to make it young adult, because most of the time I was thinking the whole plot would have worked much better if the leads were at least in their 30s.

I love the Australian setting and the fact that we have that setting without a farm for once. Given that, the American spelling on my version was a little distracting at times, but I will assume my copy is what will be published there.

Really there were no major flaws in the book though, and these are all minor gripes. It was a quick fun read and I’ll definitely be reading more of Ms Tremayne’s books.

4 out of 5

Leave a Reply

