Book Review: Minnie’s Year of Living

minniesyearofliving

Book Review:  Minnie’s Year of Living by Rowena Candlish

This novella is the first offering from Candlish, who is a friend of mine in real life, so I might be a little biased when I say I enjoyed it thoroughly.

Minnie’s life is in a bit of a rut, so she decides this year will be her adventurous ‘year of living’.  As such, she indulges in some activities she wouldn’t usually, including nude sunbaking (in her own backyard; she’s being adventurous, not inappropriate) which catches the eye of her extremely good looking neighbour.  How will she cope when she runs into him again after this?

I’ve ranted about novellas before and how the characters in them are often underdeveloped due to the format, but Minnie springs to life from the page (screen?) immediately making me laugh and sniff in equal measure.

The book is being marketed as a ‘contemporary romance’, but I also think it has a real chicklit feel to it, and I hope Rowena produces something full length soon.  (I’ll be hitting her up for a free ARC too…)

Using my novella rating system, I give it 5/5.

Leave a Reply

