Book Review – The Unbroken Line by Alex Hammond

unbrokenlineThere’s action galore right from the opening scenes of The Unbroken Line. Will, our hero who is a Melbourne based lawyer, is out with his girlfriend, Eva, when they are attacked. One of their masked assailants warns Will to back off. Will Will (sorry, I just had to do that once) work out who sent the men and which case he has to solve before they attack again?

I received this book via net-galley, and in retrospect I wish I would have known it was a sequel. My advice to everyone will be to do what I didn’t and read the first in the series, Blood Witness, before this novel because I think it took a lot away from my overall enjoyment of The Unbroken Line.

Okay, I did get a handle on who was who in the zoo eventually, but I wonder if would have had more of a vested interest in the characters if I’d ‘known’ them from the previous installment, especially Eva and Miller, Will’s partner. I was particularly apathetic towards Eva, which I doubt Hammond intended!

There were lots and lots of supporting characters (perhaps again, too many for me to form any type of attachment). I did adore the professor and his English lady friend. They were a hoot, and I’d quite happily read a book just of them! I also wanted more of Will’s mother, Will’s secretary, and the female police officer investigating Will and Eva’s attack. I think the brevity of these three older ladies’ scenese was a shame.

And this is where I will say that, perhaps after reading several thrillers written by women for the female market, that I found Hammond’s writing to be very… Male… I know it’s wrong for me to feel this way, but I think there was a lot of stuff in here that made me just think, ‘oh, typical male’ and roll my eyes. For example, there was the obligatory female strippers and a visit to their club. There was also a lot of emphasis on the action and the main plot, whereas the romantic subplot was extremely underdone… A little rushed maybe?… There was no sexual tension or lead up to it anyway, that would make me cheer it on.

Melbourne was a great part of the story, with the author using such things as the Melbourne Cup to great effect, and it was a joy to read a book revolving around the Australian legal system instead of the usual American one.

The tension in the climactic scenes was well done, and I did like that there might be several characters that could be used again in a third book (I hope to see Saxon again).

The characters touched on Australia’s history, and this was an enjoyable read. It could have turned into something akin to reading a textbook on the First Fleet, but instead it flowed nicely and fit into the plot well.

I also liked how Hammond weaved everything together towards the end, so that there wasn’t any annoying red herrings/smoking guns remaining.

Overall, I’d rec this, especially to those who like writers such as Grisham, Patterson or Clancy.

4/5

(I found this book with the title of Hawk’s Covenant on another social media site.)

Leave a Reply

