The Hotel on Mulberry Bay by Melissa Hill

hotel mulberry

Book Review:  The Hotel on Mulberry Bay by Melissa Hill

I received this via net-galley. I was so excited to get it. It sounded great. It isn’t.

I’ve tried to finish it. I can’t.

Every time I attempt my eyes glaze over within a few minutes. I made it about 75% into it, but even that 75% was skimming most of the time. Every cliche that there could be is included in this book, with none of the warmth or romance or particularly pretty writing that you need for those tired plot tropes to work. As I write this I realise even the title is cliched.

There was perhaps a glimmer of hope with the Beatles collecting sub-plot, but it wasn’t enough. (If I’d been advising the author I’d have suggested she make this the focus/main plot.)

Elle, the main character, was boring and predictable. I much preferred her sister, Penny, but even she wasn’t enough.

Sorry but Hotel on Mulberry Bay didn’t live up to my expectations (or the recommended retail price).

1/5

Leave a Reply

