Book Review: Quest for Earth

quest for earth

Book Review:  Quest for Earth by SE Gilchrist

I soooo wanted to love this book. I love scifi romance. I love supporting Aussie authors. I have enjoyed Escape publishing books in the past. Unfortunately, I did not love Quest for Earth.

I did finish the book, but barely. I nearly abandoned it around the halfway mark. Only reading a review that said they also struggled but persevered until they became quite engrossed made me continue. Yes, it did get better, but not enough to make me engrossed, I’m afraid.

The beginning is a mess. Quest is the first in a series, but uses characters from Gilchrist’s previous series. It starts with an info dump about the plots, outcomes and some characters of those series. Totally unnecessary, and yes, straight out messy. A few flashbacks thrown in throughout the book to give the reader some background would have sufficed.

Regardless of the info dump, following who is who from where is still a struggle at first. Luckily, working it out really wasn’t important to the plot. All we really need to know is that Sherise is on a spacecraft heading for Earth with a cast of supporting characters. The spaceship gets thrown into a vortex and crashes through to Earth a few hundred years in the future.

Our Earth, obviously, has changed a bit, and Sherise and her crew will face quite a few challenges just to stay alive, let alone return to their own time.

On future!Earth I quickly tired of the paranormal fantasy themes. I was reading for space!sci-fi, but instead there were weredogs and half-deads and mental telepathy etc, none of which is my cup of tea. I can’t say that anything on future!Earth struck me as original or groundbreaking. Gilchrist borrows heavily from many other sci-fi works: Logan’s Run, The Time Machine, etc etc.

Sherise is rather boring. Gilchrist does that thing where she keeps getting the characters to tell us they’re strong, independent, feminist etc etc, instead of showing us they are. Sherise has the most annoying habit of using idioms/metaphors supposedly from her planet/Gods. ‘By Cercis’s hand etc etc’. This drove me nuts. I was completely panicked that all the characters would do this, but thankfully it was only Sherise.

Her romantic intended had his own annoying traits, however. He blathered on about mates and sons etc until I was ready to slap him.

I will readily admit I wanted to at least read the sex scenes in the book before I discarded it, just to see how they were written and how they compare to others, but unfortunately these were quite ho-hum too. Perhaps it would have helped if I’d like Sherise and her man a little more.

Another complaint would be the amount of word repetition, and grammatical and spelling errors in the book. I hope they corrected this before publication (I received an ARC). It was distracting at times.

There is one spark of hope. Sherise’s friend, Bree, had a much more interesting romantic subplot. I assume this will be the basis of the next book in the series.

This one, however, only gets a 2 out of 5 from me.

Leave a Reply

