This Has Been Absolutely Lovely

Book Review: This Has Been Absolutely Lovely by Jessica Dettmann

 loved Dettman’s debut, How To Be Second Best, so I basically knocked down Netgalley’s door to grab a copy of this, her second published novel. (And they, and Harper Collins Australia came through — thank you!) I’m happy to report there is no signs of the dreaded curse of the second novel and Dettmann has produced another winner.

Annie was part of a mildly successful 80s band and now that both of her parents have passed away and she seems to have free time, she has decided to try and get back into singing and songwriting. The only fly in the ointment is her daughter, Molly, who is pregnant and, Annie suspects, will need her mother to provide free childcare.

It’s Christmas and Annie’s other two children have also come to stay. Simon, who has returned home to Australia from Germany with his wife and children and obvious money issues, and Naomi, a sweet hippy who seems to be the only one with her life on track, even if it is a minimalist natural vegan type track. Also visiting for the holidays are the other members of the band, Annie’s ex and the children’s father, Paul, and his boyfriend, Brian.

I loved all the characters, flaws and all. I thought this showed quite a lot of skill on Dettmann’s part as there are also many parts where I want to slap the characters silly. We get a lot from Annie and Molly’s point of view in particular, and they didn’t always come across as ‘good’ people but, in the end, I especially warmed to Molly.

My favourite thing about Dettmann’s debut was the humour. It was absolutely hilarious. I admit I didn’t find this book as funny (although it does have its moments) and instead, I found it mostly quite sad. It isn’t really a fluffy chicklit book at all. There’s only hints of romance. The book is about family, a typically dysfunctional and crazy and, ultimately, loving family.

There’s a strong feminist tone throughout the book. The expectation that it’s the women of the world who will sacrifice everything for their children. Dettmann addresses women giving up their careers but also giving up their artistic passions for their family. I dabble in writing myself and rarely, if ever, get a chance by the time I run around doing this or that. I too keep saying that I’ll get back into it when everyone has left the nest. Of course, as Dettmann’s story and characters point out in various ways, you never stop having the responsibility of being a mother, no matter what you choose to do or how old your children become.

One thing I really loved about the book was the Australian setting. There is a lot of fun poked at summer Christmas and our lack of traditions, all while showing that we do have some traditions which we don’t always acknowledge (Boxing Day cricket and playing under the sprinkler, for starters).

I really enjoyed the book overall. There’s a lot of poignant scenes as well as many quotable lines which made me tear up and reflect on life and I highly recommend This Has Been Absolutely Lovely. 5 out of 5

Leave a comment