The Last Remains

Book Review: The Last Remains by Elly Griffiths (Ruth Galloway #15)

Elly Griffiths is one of my favourite writers and she has, yet again, hit a home run with her latest Ruth Galloway, The Last Remains.

The mystery story revolves around a skeleton found in a building. Ruth quickly determines the bones are quite modern, meaning she is once again assisting Nelson with a murder investigation

I have enjoyed some of Griffiths’s murder plots more than others. This one seemed to be less complicated than some but, in the end, I was not as clever as I imagined myself and missed most of the clues.

But, obviously, anyone reading these books is reading them for more than the murder plot. Griffiths has put Ruth and Nelson through the wringer now for 15 books and I can see why most fans think this will be the final book featuring the characters. Even though Griffiths is not burning all her bridges by insisting it’s only the ‘last for now’, I think, from my pov, I would not recommend Griffiths fall into the Downton Abbey trap of flogging a dead horse.

I can’t recommend The Last Remains though unless you have read the previous 14 installments. This just isn’t a series which works that way. I do recommend you go back and start with The Crossing Places. Actually, I might just do a re-read myself.

5 out of 5

Leave a comment