The Cuckoo’s Calling

Book Review: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

I did read the Harry Potter books years ago but I wouldn’t say I’m a ‘PotterHead’ in any way, shape or form, so Galbraith being Rowling was not much of an influence over my opinion or expectations for The Cuckoo’s Calling. (Most reviews are quite harsh and I would be interested in checking the ratings before Galbraith’s identity was revealed.)

The book introduces us to Cormoran Strike, a private detective, and Robin Ellacott, his new temp secretary. Their first case together is the investigation of the death of a supermodel. Strike’s investigation style is almost old-fashioned, with Galbraith/Rowling sticking to the interview/procedural type of investigation. I enjoyed that though.

I also enjoyed Galbraith/Rowling’s descriptive style. I suppose she wrote this way for HP but honestly, I don’t remember. Both the lead characters were likeable and the supporting ones mostly horrid, which was (I assume) intended. The mystery plot was complicated enough to keep me interested but I did ‘solve’ (aka guess) a lot of the outcomes.

Okay, okay, there were a couple of corny additions. Strike’s service record and war injury are pretty much straight out of ‘Mystery Novels 101’. And Robin was, at times, a bit of a Mary Sue or, you could say, an adult Hermione.

But, sometimes, a book can be the right one at the right time and I feel like Cuckoo’s Calling fell into this category for me. I’d previously purchased the second book, so I’m straight onto it.

5 out of 5

Leave a comment