Don’t Look Back

Book Review: Don’t Look Back by Jo Spain

Between her books and screenwriting, I’ve become a huge fan of Jo Spain. But… Unfortunately, this one, for me, was a bit of a letdown.

After a whirlwind romance, Luke and Rose marry. Things go awry when her violent ex-boyfriend tracks her down. A dead body later, Luke has called in his friend and former barrister, Mickey, to assist. However, once Mickey starts investigating, she’s not sure who to believe.

I liked Mickey. I would like her to feature in another book. There were moments though that Spain confused me with where she wanted Mickey to go romantically. She’s in love with this one, and then this one, and then having dinner with this one, but hang on, she loves this one. It all seemed very out of character with the rest of Mickey’s personality and was very distracting.

Likewise, the flashbacks of Rose and Luke’s romance were also unnecessary. They became quite tedious and, in the end, I didn’t think these numerous scenes added to the plot.

I also found that the wealth of the main characters grating. At times, it read like a 80s Sidney Sheldon.

I’m still keen to read more Spain books but this one was not her best work.

3 out of 5

Leave a comment